Glance of Malaysia

Malaysia comprises Peninsular Malaysia and the states of Sabah and Sarawak on the island of Borneo.

Located between 2º and 7º north of the Equator, Peninsula Malaysia is separated from the states of Sabah and Sarawak by the South China Sea. To the north of Peninsula Malaysia is Thailand while its southern neighbor is Singapore. Sabah and Sarawak are north of Indonesia in Borneo while Sarawak also shares borders with Brunei.

329,758 sq km

27 million

Kuala Lumpur

Malays who make up about 57% of the population are the predominant group with Chinese, Indians and other ethnic groups making up the rest.


Bahasa Malaysia (Malay) is the national language but English is widely spoken. The ethnic groups also speak various languages and dialects.

Islam is the official religion but all other religions are freely practiced.

Malaysia is governed by a Parliamentary democracy with a bicameral legislative system. The Head of State is the Yang Di-PertuanAgong, a position that is awarded to a different State Monarch every five years and the Head of Government is the Prime Minister.

Tropical climate with warm weather all year round. Temperatures in the lowlands range from 21ºC (70ºF) to 32ºC (90ºF). The highlands are cooler, where temperatures range between 15ºC (59º F) to 25ºC (77ºF). Annual rainfall varies from 2,000mm to 2,500mm.

  • New Year’s Day
  • Hari Raya Aidiladha
  • Federal Territory Day
  • Chinese New Year
  • Awal Muharram
  • Birthday of Prophet Muhammad
  • Labour Day
  • Wesak Day
  • King’s Birthday
  • National Day
  • Deepavali
  • Hari Raya Aidilfitri
  • Christmas

Manufacturing constitutes the largest single component of Malaysia’s economy. Tourism and primary commodities such as petroleum, palm oil, natural rubber and timber are other major contributors to the economy.

The unit of currency is Malaysian Ringgit indicated as RM. USD1 is roughly equivalent to RM3.00. Foreign currency can be converted at banks and money changers.

Most states: Mon – Fri: 9.15am to 4.30pm. Sat & Sun: Closed (Selected banks and branches are open on Sat).

Public Holiday: Closed

Open from 8.30am – 5.00pm daily except the first Saturday of each month, Sundays and public holidays.

Eight hours ahead of GMT and 16 hours ahead of U.S. Pacific Standard Time.

Voltage is 220 – 240 volts AC at 50 cycles per second.

Standard 3-pin square plugs and sockets.

Local calls can be made from public phones using coins or prepaid cards. International calls can be made from public phones with card phone facilities or at any Telecom office.